FW dreadnoughts questions

eurieus

Hello brothers !!! 

So , my dreaded 30th birthday is coming soon and i'm looking at some of the shiny and pricey stuff from Forgeword :D 

I'm torn between the deredeo and the Leviathan, and both are awesome looking BUT, obviously, they fulfill different roles. I'm getting the BaC box soon, and i was wondering if the contemptor mortis variant is still viable, or is the deredeo far superior and i should get one instead ? 

Are the "classic" contemptor loadouts still relevant now that codex dreads can be squadroned and have more attacks ? 

And last but not least, does anyone have experience with the Leviathan ? Full CC in a pod or shooty variant ? 

I'm sorry for the noobish questions, but i have zero experience with FW models and if i can get some FW goodness, might as well invest in the rights things ;) 

Thanks for your advices brothers !! 

i own and have used 2 dreadnaughts and then i own another i have only recently acquired he has yet to go for a spin around the table.

i own a venerable, deredeo and the contempor (the new guy). to me i feel that the hierarchy of dreadnaughts has changed and much like the imperial knights have grown up and branched so too has the dreadnaught. ill need to explain that analogy better i feel: in the past the imperial knight was errant or paladin then we got the gallant, crusader and warden. the paladin and errant became the (beginner knights) and then your warden was your mix of two different styles of knight with the crusader and gallant occupying the extremes of shooting and melee

with the dreadnaughts we have a similar situation, origionally you have the normal dread, the venerable, contempor and chaplain dreadnaughts. the first two being your beginner models with the chaplain occupying the halfway house between the final form the contempor/mortis. now its become a tree of sorts and ill draw it in chat for you