Kastelan Conversion Ideas

Tyriks

So, I want to get some Kastelans in my army, but I'm not particularly fond of the models (or of the price tag associated with using Forge World 30k substitutes).  So, I want to try to either scratch build something (a daunting task) or customize the existing models.  I have never tried any conversions before, beyond reforming a Chaos biker back to the side of the Imperium.  Has anyone built or customized some Kastelans I could look at for ideas?  Or is anyone aware of bits or pieces from other sprues that would look good on a Kastelan?  I think I'm leaning towards just customizing the models (unless I find a scratch build option that would save me money, since I'm on a tight 40k budget right now).  I've tried searching around but haven't found much.  Thanks for any suggestions!

Not sure what models you can use instead aside from the obvious 30K ones, but if you are looking for conversion ideas have a look at these that I did for my army, obviously the Dwarfs would not be on theme for you but a pilot instead of a faceless helmet could be an Idea. I intend to have my 30k Archmagos on Abynet be a hollowed out Kastlean with the Archmagos as pilot/heart.

Kastelan 3

Kastelan 2

Kastelan

Not the easiest to see but these are the only pictures I have to hand, on three the head has been removed and a dwarf modeled in as pilot (one standing, two sitting (well standing with feet cut of to make them stand lower in the chest)). The fourth one I hollowed out the helmet and put a dwarf head looking out.  

Looking further afield a striped down Dreadnought might be the general right size and look. I haven’t actually worked on a plastic dread only metal ones (aside from the one in the starter set), so I don’t know how versatile or adaptable they would be. Would also be a bit more expensive.