First HH list 1k Word bearers

Nightmare84

Hi guys, just recently returned to the hobby and bought battle of calth set that i was planning to do a 40k army with but decided to go 30k instead.

Im pretty new to the HH thing so i may of stuffed up my list. Sorry! at the moment im bouncing between Word bearers and imperial fists. i may 100% decided when i get my box and give a try at painting yellow.

so here we go.

Chaplin consul- art. armor, refractor shield.

diabolist- art armour,

Apothecary,  aug scanners-

tactical squad. sgt- art armour an power weapon

tactical squad. 4 extra bodies. sgt has power weapon and art armour 

sicaran battle tank- bolter sponsons

contemptor dread. assault cannon

i may be over doing it on upgrades?? there is so much i would like to squeeze in but i always seem to have 50-90 left and nothing comes in for that..

please pull it apart im very new to this

thank you very much

Hey there! Welcome to the Word Bearers (assuming we can convince you join the dark side)!

Not a bad list you have got there; although there are a few things I would change to suit my own personal tastes and the way I believe Word Bearers play best. I must say though, I am new to the Horus Heresy too and am still thinking about my own Word Bearers lists as I build and paint them - I only started with the Betrayal at Calth set and so have yet to play any games with my army as it is not fully built, however, I have spent a lot of time on this forum and studying the rules to try and get a good idea of what works. So do bear that in mind; I do not know everything about the Horus Heresy, but can perhaps teach a few things that I learnt as I was getting started.

First, here is what I would change about your list:

Chaplain - Add Melta Bombs, they will be useful against vehicles/walkers in 1000 point games.

Diabolist - Add Melta Bombs and Power Weapon for AP3/2