Starting a Skitarii force

A while back I added a Start Collecting! Skitarii box to my Amazon wish list, and lo and behold someone actually bought it for me. I wasn't all that serious about starting a new army, but I am now! 

I loved the AdMech stuff and I can't wait to paint it up. So, I'm going to dump some thoughts here and see if anyone can help me with a little guidance, as I'm new to this force. 

First up: Game mechanics.

I'll be allying them to my Eagle Eyes space marines, for whom I use Raven Guard chapter tactics. 

First, it seems to me I'll need to use the Skitarii themselves as Rangers, since that's what's called for on the formation that came in the box. I won't be able to field the Magos without that, so if I want to stay BattleForged I'll need to use it that way. I guess I'm okay with that. Not sure what I'm missing out on, or if there would be other formations I could use instead? I'm still working my way through the codex. 

If I take them as Rangers, using just the stuff in the box, what has experience taught you about fighting against MEQ armies, Tau and Necrons? In my small group that's about all we have. My marines can obviously cover a lot, so I'm hoping to use these to do things the marines aren't as good at.

The Onager could obviously cover anti-air very well, but are the other weapons worth looking into as well? 

Second (maybe more importantly): Aesthetics

I love the way these models look. I'll be painting them with my marines in mind, whose main colors are ork-flesh green and crimson. I was hoping to do something with the Skitarii that would contrast, but be somewhat unique. Red robes would be the obvious choice, and I'm not ruling it out, but I'm wide open to alternative schemes.