Help building a Melee BA army?

Hello, I am new to the TTG of 40k, but very familiar with the universe and books. I am currently painting up about 1000-1200 points of iron hands, but plan on using them as my shoosting boys. I love both the Blood Angel and Space Wolves lore and themes. The knightly angelic vampires with the best Primarch, the glorious and charismatic Sanguinius, and the vicious were wolf Vikings. My top three chapters have to be BA, SW, and GK, and I've actually written up my own chapter to include some shoosting marines, and an elite group using GK rules(don't worry, I'm not crazy enough to make a successor to the GK.) I have been asking across several forums, and haven't really been able to get a clean cut set of advice, so I've decided to come here, to the source. I want to run a melee based army, guys charging in with swords and axes, crackling psychic energy blasting away. I've been told two different things, space wolves and blood Angels. But space wolves just look like cavalry, and more geared towards shoosting. I want to choose BA as my main force, my army, but I need help figuring out how to build them as a good melee army of vampire warrior Knights? Is it possible, and what advise would you give to me for making a sword and board, axe and Chainfist bad boy army? I only play at FLGS, and don't care about competitiveness, but I also don't want to lose every game.

Well, it seems you pretty much have the gist of it, Mist.  I've been away from the hobby for a while, but am getting back into it pretty hardcore myself.  A few suggestions I would have: 1) Get the BA Codex and try to become as familiar with it and the terminology as possible (if you don't have one).  

2) Fast units are pretty much key here these days, kind of like they've always been.  Transports and drop pods are needed for slow movers, and coupled with deep striking jumpers.  

3)  Compliment your units with one another to try to bring balance.