Word Bearers with Veterans (new book)

Beginner here. Finished painting my first squad and try to figure out where to go from here. I guess I just don't want to paint a force that is illegal/unplayable and probably fancy to actually field my army some day.

I started out with BaC and bought 10 extra bodies and volkite culverines. With the new rules (marksmen) veteran tactical might be interesting and i'd love to add some volkite from the start, full HS later, then rather Ashen Circle than Gal Vorbak. It is still early in the Heresy for me msn-wink.gif

additionally needed marines and transport could be bought. Ashen Circle will be bought at some point, but i question if it makes sense to add just a few early on? So i rather see them as a late addition after putting mainly veterans out first.

what is of importance to me is to have an effective expansion, so no units that won't make sense after expanding further, also i am not to interested in refitting units/beefing stuff up and having to rework the models - except for a blob of marines that could be easily transformed to veterans later.

so without further ado here are what I came up with (by the help of battlescribe):

obsolete lists

1500 (1499)

Chaplain goes with Volkites, because Vets occupy whole rhino (afaik).

+ HQ (275pts) +
Legion Centurion [Artificer Armour, Melta Bombs, Plasma Pistol]
Consul [Chaplain]
Legion Praetor [Cataphractii Terminator Armour with Combi-bolter and Power Weapon, Chainfist, Grenade Harness]
Master of the Legion [Pride of the Legion]
+ Troops (994pts) +
Legion Terminator Squad [Cataphractii Terminator Armour with Combi-bolter and Power Weapon, Chainfist, 2x Combi-Weapon, Heavy Flamer, 4x Legion Terminators, Lightning Claw, 2x Power Fist]
Legion Land Raider Phobos [Hunter-killer Missile, Twin-Linked Bolter]
Legion Veteran Tactical Squad [Flamer, Legion Rhino Armoured Carrier, 9x Legion Veteran Space Marines, Marksmen, Melta Bombs, Missile Launcher and Suspensor Web]