Drop Pods. Worth it?

Stemplar

Apologies if this has already been raised elsewhere.

I used to love drop pods but with the points they cost and what they offer I just don't know if they're worth it.

Coming in at the end of the movement phase means whatever is in there has to disembark and be shot at before they can do anything. As opposed to any vehicle where they can get out, then move, shoot and charge.

I'm new at this, though, and not real smart. So, am I missing something? Or are drop pods off the list now?

Consider these differences now:

1. Coming in at the end of the movement turn means the occupants are unable to move. Not so good.

2. However, now you can charge after landing AND heavy weapons can contribute to your shooting. Great!

3. Costs points/PL to do this: Not so big a deal. Last edition, unless you were taking a Gladius formation, pods still cost you.

4. Cheaper than SR's when moving the same number of bodies and faster than ground transport. Good

5. Can't carry dreads anymore unless you take the FW version. REALLY BAD

So, depending on what you want to do, pods can effect your plan positively or negatively.

I think the biggest difference with Pods now in comparison w/ the older version is that they cannot carry Dreadnoughts, and that you can't have more than 50% of your army embarked in them in matched play...