Analyzing forward to Cyraxus

Charlo

I have very little knowledge of the 30K stuff, but I can tell you the biggest challenge I have in my AdMech games is claiming loot for the omnissiah. Most tournies or run of the mill Maelstrom are loaded with 'you gotta get this' objectives. 

It's super challenging. Weighing the lists between shooty bots and bots that get junk for you... then there's the other balance of time... how long can I sit there and shoot the crud out of my opponent before it's too late for me to grab objectives? Then there's opponents (like Astra) that do both well, and you are in that cat and mouse game, again trying to juggle shooting vs. grabbing stuff.

I don't know if a 30K army will help any of that out or not. I do think you'll find those are your biggest challenges though. Congrats on the cool purchase though. You'll have to show it off here!

My 30k Mechanicum is the army I spent the most time playing with in my career as a hobbyist so far, so I have some experience. I won't engage in rampant speculation though. It would just be guesswork. The army is extremely powerful in 30k, but that's a whole different game system now, and the units who are ported will be likely to function completely differently with new stats and point costs.

If they somehow decide to keep Castellax (think Kastelan robots, but more generalist and less of a one trick pony), and thallax (pretty much jump pack ogryns) as troop choices, that would be a game changer either way. Deep striking highly mobile troops for objective grabbing would really catapult the Mechanicus in 40k to a much more interesting playstyle which is easier to integrate into game modes which utilize mealstrom missions in some way. Castellax with objective secured would be close to impossible to remove from an objective.