Mechanized Guard - Regimental Choice

lash144

Hey there, yet another thread regarding mech from me ;)

I'm pretty new to 40k. Had my first game 2 weeks ago, running a 1850 mechanised Tallarn force and I actually won :)

I really liked the ignoring of the -1 to hit while moving, but haven't made real use of the other regimental gimmicks (i.e. the stratagem and also the tank order which I just used once).

At the weekend I will have my next to matches and I'm already list building and I'm torn between the regiments....

Atm I'm considering Cadia, Tallarn or Steel Legion, but really can't decide.

So what are your experiences regarding the different regiments for mechanized guard?

Cheers!

I field Catachan, you know, the regiment that is long known for its extensive and sometimes exclusive use of mechanized infantry :tongue.: I do uses Catachan actually, I field 4 chimeras with twin heavy flamers, 4 leman russes, and 4 self-propelled artillery vehicles along with a sentinel and Cyclops or two. The regimental doctrine just meshes with me better since this edition I have notoriously bad # of shot rolls and the reroll helps me quite a bit.

Being a Cadian player myself, I don't recommend it for mechanized gaurd. The only use you will get out of it really is the strategm (which admittedly is amazing) and the tank order.

From what I have gathered reading online and reading the codex, Tallarn is probably your best bet. That being said with the right build most of them will work as Galron pointer out with Catachan. A seldom considered regiment for mech gaurd.