How to deal with bubble wrap/transports?

John_f

Granted, I have no practical experience with the new codex (getting it for xmas)but initial thoughts are that we now have some great delivery systems and the +1 to wound is huge. But how do we deal with opponents who bobble wrap or keep their counter offensive units in transports?

This was partially demonstrated in the latest Tabletop Tactics batrep, where the opponent hade Berzerkers in Rhino, that could fairly easily counter the big units of DC and SangGuard being deep truck in. I can imagine the scenario being even worse if you had a guard or a Tau army, being bubble wrapped by cheap MSU.

Is there an efficient way to deal with this issue?

Granted, I have no practical experience with the new codex (getting it for xmas)but initial thoughts are that we now have some great delivery systems and the +1 to wound is huge. But how do we deal with opponents who bobble wrap or keep their counter offensive units in transports?

This was partially demonstrated in the latest Tabletop Tactics batrep, where the opponent hade Berzerkers in Rhino, that could fairly easily counter the big units of DC and SangGuard being deep truck in. I can imagine the scenario being even worse if you had a guard or a Tau army, being bubble wrapped by cheap MSU.

Is there an efficient way to deal with this issue?

Same way as always. We shoot them. BA are supposed to be a melee army with ranged support, not a 100% melee army.

Shooting will have its limitations. 

If you're using your shooting to waste the chaff, I would argue you're largely playing into your opponents hands.  

A lot of the time, the strongest BA armies will be "go big or go home" type lists that will be made or broken on first turn. 

Lists are likely to gravitate towards one of two styles -

A: Aggressive:  deploying big/chunky DC jumpy squads on field, and using the strat to move up and near guarantee first turn charge (if we get first turn). 

or