We Remember - Loyalist EC in the 41st Millenium

Stofficus

Hello all, first PLOG 'round these parts, so do be gentle. 

First, a little background; I'm a longtime IG player looking to focus on something other than Guard for a while, as I'm presently an army officer, and for some reason my passion to look at little plastic soldiers in my free time feels a touch too much like work. (though the temptation to model IG models after troublesome Sgts is, at times, quite tempting)

Marines offer something still reasonably grounded (I'm very much a hard sci-fi kind of person), but still outlandish enough as to feel like a proper diversion - but the question then was what flavour of marines? The heresy was a passion of mine, but with it left in 7th my motivation there too was quite low. 

What I settled on was a sort of combined interest; putting my already established 30k force to use (loyalist EC) in the 40k setting, while from a narrative standpoint exploring one of the more interesting subjects the new fluff has raised, though yet to address; what does one with memory of what the Imperium was founded on do when confronted with the grim reality of the 41st millenium? My favourite blurb to come out of the new fluff (which I mostly find rather hackneyed and comic-bookish to be honest) was Guilliman's reflection on what he was awoken to - and wishing that perhaps Horus had won the heresy and put us all out of our misery.