Dual melee weapons question...

I'm a newbie when it comes to the rules. From what I understand, if a character has dual melee weapons you pick which one to fight with. If they have multiple attacks, you can split them between the two weapons, right? Is there any point in having two of the same thing? Basically I'm trying to figure out if there's ever a reason to give a model two chainswords haha

Some weapons like the lightning claws have a special rule for when you dual wield them. But some models come with two different weapons like the company/chapter champion (can't remember which) or khorne berserkers who can take a chainsword and chain axe. And some CSM players give their champions two different melee weapons, I've noticed.

Anyway I'm just sort of confused about why anyone would take two weapons other than lightning claws. Is there a reason for it that I'm missing? Because if so, and I can make my Templars even more templar-y I want to take that opportunity haha

You can choose the weapon better for the task or in the case of speciality weapon + Chainsword, it’s simply your (Speciality Weapon = AtK) + additional 1 STR 4 AP - attack. Double Chainsword would mean (Atk) + additonal 2 STR 4 AP - Attack.

Alternatively, you have a model with a power axe and a power sword. Faced with a low toughness high armour target (an eldar) you would use the sword because you'll wound on 3+ but negate their armour, but against a target with high toughness and low armour (some vehicles come to mind) you'll use the axe.

With 2 chainswords you get 2 bonus attacks. One for each. So if model has 3 attacks and you give him pair of chainswords he now has 5, but i may be wrong. 

is this correct?

also I'm not seeing dual sword load out in BScribe 

does Crusader squad not have access to dual melee ? 

With 2 chainswords you get 2 bonus attacks. One for each. So if model has 3 attacks and you give him pair of chainswords he now has 5, but i may be wrong. 

is this correct?