Sealing Imperial Guard

Colonel Cross

Hey guys I recently got back into the hobby after a 12+ year break. I've slowly been stripping and repainting my massive guard army and I was wondering what the best method is for sealing these guys?

I've tried matte varnish but then all the metallics are subdued. Can I just use some brush on gloss varnish for the lasgun barrels and such? Or maybe use a spray on gloss then hit it with matte? I feel like a total noob. So many of my models are metal I really want to protect them since they chip when I look at them :/

I've always found that metal models need more than a spray on coat of varnish to prevent chipping on exposed edges. 

My best results came from a brushed-on layer of gloss varnish with extra layers given to exposed/sharp edges of the mini that would make contact with surfaces should it fall over.

Then a coat or two of matte/satin spray varnish to kill the shine, because I don't like gloss finishes.

I have lots of metal models across lots of games systems. What I do is this:

- Gloss varnish applied by brush all over. I use a water-based UV-resistant non-yellowing water-based polyurethane varnish that's designed for sealing floors with. It's expensive, but one tin will last for so long that I doubt I'll ever need to buy another. I thin this a little with some clean water and apply it in two thin layers. Any sticky-outy bits like swords, cloak corners, pointing fingers, etc get a couple of extra thin coats.

- Once everything is fully dry (leave overnight), I spray them all with a good spray of Testor's Dullcote. I do this outside, one model at a time, and bring them in straight after. Put them somewhere warm, dry, and dust-free to fully cure.

- If you need to touch up any areas the matte spray missed (usually in hard-to reach areas), I thin down some matte medium (at least 1:1 with clean water), and apply it with a brush to those areas. This evens the finish, and are spots you will never handle or scuff anyway.