Aggressors shooting...

Bloodblade

Sorry for the basic question, but I am a novice to all this.

When the codex gives a number of shots for the aggressor's gauntlets, is that the number for the pair, or for each gauntlet?

There doesn't seem to be any way to tell. If there is please clue me in.

Thank you brothers.

I don’t have my codex on me at the moment so I don’t know for sure, but you need to look at the data slate entry where it says what the model is armed with. If it says that aggressors are armed with ‘2 gauntlets’ than it is armed with two separate weapons and you have two weapons for the amount listed. If it says it’s armed with ‘gauntlets’ than its only one weapon system.

I hope that helps and didn’t confuse you more.

They are armed with either Boltstorm Guantlets or Flamestorm Gauntlets. Not a pair of, just "... gauntlets". The weapon profile is also plural. So, each model has one of the gauntlets weapons, in addition to the frag grenade launcher if they have the boltstorm.

The flamer variant is really bad tho.

Less range, no missile pod, wastes the points for the special rule since you always hit automatically anyway, basically never gets to shoot double due short range so the points for that special rule are usually wasted as well and lastly.....you'd expect them to have something with a little bit more punch than regular flamer....heavy flamer for example.

Hear, hear. NEVER take flamers on them. Overwatch can be easily denied by standing 8.1" away and you basically waste two special rules at once.

Win win for me, either opponent stands 8.1" away and has a below 50 % chance of making the charge without spending CP or they get to under 7" away and get overwatched. 

4D6 overwatch shots per model is very nice. That's 21 auto hits on average per unit of 3, enough to completely dissolve a unit of gaunts or cultists.