Kaese's army blog

Kaese

I have thought of coming back to 40k universe for a few years now. The release of the 8th edition and completely new ruleset was the thing that finally got me started. Blood angels were the obvious choice as Death company has the coolest miniatures as well as background story. The other choice was Dark eldars that I used to play back in the 3rd and 4th editions.

I started building the army mid October last year, but being an extremely slow painter, I didn't get the miniatures past the prepping stage. It took a new years resolution and a "try something new" painting challenge for me to finally get some paint on my army. Obviously the first models I have painted have been somehow related to death company :smile.:

gallery_104948_14179_180554.jpg

This Death company chaplain was the first model I painted. Black armor and edge highlight was something I had never tried before, so I was a bit worried how it would turn out, especially with my shaking hands. The result was better than I expected, but there are still something to improve. The highlight layers on black could have been a bit lighter, and the edge highlights are a bit too light. All in all, I really like painting characters, as I can experiment with stuff without the need of replicating it in full unit of miniatures. :smile.:

gallery_104948_14179_231492.jpg

Death company dreadnought was the first big model that I painted. I had seen a picture of a dreadnought with really cool blue glow somewhere, so I wanted to try if I can do it. I had thought that it would take ages to paint something this big, but it was surprisingly easy to paint.

gallery_104948_14179_510860.jpg