How come Librarian Turmiel isn’t in the 8th Codex?

Axineton

He's never been a named character with special stats or additional powers, the only named/special Librarian for the DA since 2nd Edition when I started playing has been the Grand Master of Librarians, Ezekiel. I don't think there was anything specifically special about the Turmiel character, he didn't have any unique powers and wasn't ever really described as special, and during 6th and 7th, most people saw that model as a plastic stand-in for the metal/Finecast Ezekiel piece.

You can use the model as any Librarian in a Dark Angels force, and if you want to call him Turmiel, you could, a lot of people end up naming their models.

His rules could be found in the dark vengeance 8th ed rules sheet that stores were passing out, but apart from that he has always been just a representation of a normal Librarian, which is why he isnt in the codex

Interesting, I never even saw a store passing those out, but looking at what I could find online, other than not being able to distinguish the Power Level for him, the "Librarian Turmiel" data sheet is functionally worse than the Librarian data sheet in the DA 'Dex, he has the same stat line as the Librarian entry, lacks a bolt pistol or any pistol options, and can only manifest one power each turn, instead of two. He'd have to be like PL 5-6, maybe 7, I'm guessing, and I don't think that he was given any specific points value, was he? If not, he wouldn't be able to be used in the assumed majority of Matched Play games (maybe if you talked to your opponent about it and used a different army building mechanism).

His rules could be found in the dark vengeance 8th ed rules sheet that stores were passing out, but apart from that he has always been just a representation of a normal Librarian, which is why he isnt in the codex