Should I return my 40 Scions?

H311fi5h

So I recently ordered 40 Scions. They are all still in their sealed boxes, I could send them back.

The reason for my doubts about this purchase is the deep strike beta rule. Yes it is a beta rule, and it may not be adopted. My local community is almost 50/50 split about it.

But I expect a lot of tournaments will adopt it like they did with the last set of beta rules. And come December it is likely to be part of the next Chapter Approved. I'm hardly a power gamer who just spams the best unit to win at all cost. Hell, I started playing Guard in 7th. But GW's recent policy of nerfhammering entire lists into the ground gives me great concern. 

What I'm saying is, I'm just not sure I want to spend 200 bucks on something the may not be competitively viable anymore from one day to the next.

And I only have till tomorrow to make a decision.

40 Scions is a large force

At least from my perspective the deep strike rule won't penalise my Scions too much.

I generally run them in 5 man squads, which on 25mm bases means they can usually find a spot

I prefer not to deep strike in until T2/3 anyhow so limited issues with the rules whether or not they're accepted

It depends on how you had intended on using them? I probably wouldn't get rid of all of them 

Better to do it while theyre still in the wrapping though ;) 

No, I just wanted some mobility and flexibility to the rather static gunline playstyle of your typical guard army, while also adding some competitive units to my collection. 40 Scions is 600 points, one battalion, it's hardly spam (I would probably only use 30-35 max in one game, bought some spare for weapon options).

I quite frankly feel worried about any large purchase suddenly getting invalidated. My brand new Blood Angels army won't work anymore, the Scions I just bought get hit with the nerf bat. Maybe I'll get some Custodes Jetbikes before they double in points come december...