Help with melee Chosen

Hey I'm thinking of making some melee Chosen but there are too many options to choose from. I'm playing Word Bearers btw.

The reason I want melee Chosen (or really chosen at all) is for the cool factor. But I don't want them to suck either. Currently in my list I have a squad of CSM with a heavy bolter, havocs with autocannon (again...cool factor), cultists, and berzerkers with swords and axes with a options for a fist or 2xLC on the champion. For HQ I have a dark apostle, a Terminator Lord, a Terminator Sorcerer, and an Exhausted Champion. That's not my list, it's just the options I have to work with so far since I'm new to CSM.

I'm not sure if I need more shooting or melee and I figure a unit of chosen could do either pretty well.

How do you guys kit out your ranged chosen? How do you kit them out for melee?

EDIT: I just saw that my auto correct changed it to "Exhausted Champion" and I'm not even going to fix it lol

That's a hard proposition as there are many other units that provide cheaper ways to do Tue same thong, bonus rules to increase effectiveness, and more importantly easier ways to close the distance. If forced to make one I would consider bolters and power axes. The bolters can plink a few wounds and provide some ranged effect, and the power axes mean actual damage when in cc.

I'd consider going with combi-flamers/meltas/plasma guns and power swords or power axes. An exalted champion and a dark apostle will also greatly increase the effectiveness of the unit, but don't forget about the possibility of taking a sorcerer lord with a mark of slaanesh and having the chosen be devoted to slaanesh. With an icon of excess and delightful agonies, they can manage to survive longer and hit even harder against loyalists.