Dealing with invulnerable saves

Tommytheone

Hello Guys and Gals,

As some of you may know, I started playing WH40K about half a year ago after a long break. Since then I have played quite a few battles with the First Legion and more recently with my Tyranids  (including a first edition Zoanthrope :) ). Both armies have different synergies but are equally fun to play. 

However, I have noticed that my Dark angels tend to have a very hard time dealing with invulnerable save, the 4++ and 3++ kind that are just everywhere now. And my librarian's smite are the hellfire shell stratagem is just not enough to deal with a unit of 6 wraith or 5 custodes. On the hand, the NIds smites, because i have more psykers (typically 2 neurothropes and 1 hyve tyrant), and because the entire army moves forwards, they are a lot more effective a dishing out mortal wounds.

So I was thinking or running a vanilla jumppack librarian for the Null Zone spell, either as an auxiliary detachment or as a supreme command with two smash captains. I know this is far from fluffy so if you have alternative solution I'm all ears! In any case, do any of you guys have the same problems? did you also try the jumppack librarian? 

Cheers,

Tommy

Weight of Plasma Fire. Hellblasters are great for that. If you're firing between 10 and 20 shots of S8, 2-3 damage weapons, even if they make half to two thirds of their invuln saves, what's left will put a lot of hurt on something.

Stuff like that is also why I'm partial to the Leviathan Dread. 20 2 damage shots.

I can recommend Deathwing Knights

With s8 ap -2 and 3dmage they can kill Custodes or Wraiths pretty good in CC

Combined with the warlord Trait Fury of the Lion you will hit with S10. So you wound those nasty Golden boys on 2+^^