How viable is an all infantry army?

Andy Tea

Hi,

I'm new to chaos, I've never really liked space marines in general but some of these new chaos minis are really tempting. So I've got the codex and come up with a very vague idea of doing an all infantry army. 

How viable would that be, it doesn't have to be really competitive just good enough for me to hold my own in pick up games.

I'm thinking something very roughly along these lines

HQ

Haarken World Claimer

Chaos lord of some sort

Chaos exalted champion

10x CSM - Shooty or CC?

10x CSM- Shooty or CC?

10x CSM- Shooty

10x Chosen - Pistols and CC

5x Terminators or possibly more chosen

5x Raptors

5x Raptors

5x Warp Talons

5x Havocs - Auto cannons

5x Havocs Las Cannons

2x Obliterators

as I said its a very rough idea, i'm torn between having 3 units of 10 shooty marines and some close combat chosen or units of close combat marines and some terminators

Sorry this is most just a stream on consciousness but I've no idea where to start so any guidance would be good

Cheers

Andy

My 2 cts:

- As you include some obliterators, they are better by units of 3. In fact they are amazing once buffed. Even at 115 (but a little bit expensive: I'd prefer them around 95/100). And the official GW answer is the latest price is the right one until further notice, which means the 65pts typo is the official price (for just some more few days lol)

- I'd go 2 detachments route: one (at least) will be corsair to get the shinny additional CPs

- with all infantry, Abbadon is really nice...and infantry ;-)

- harken: I've read that he is not that great: transform him in a lord with jumppack ;-)

- build the list with a role for each unit. 

Thanks so jump Lord instead of Haarken - got it.

To be fair I'm quite rusty on 40k as a whole, probably not played in about a year and that was only a couple of casual games.