North China Open - more BA batreps and analysis

Shaezus

Hey folks. After some inspiration from Morticon's thread and encouragement from Charlo, here is a summary of my own army's performance in the NCO last weekend.

Before diving straight into the list, a little background: I started playing 8th ed almost exactly a year ago, after a few years of 7th ed - inspired break from the game. I wanted first and foremost to build a BA list which was my own design, with the ability to compete in an unknown meta. It had to be BA enough to show their unique flavour, but obviously some thjngs had to come from else where. I was drawn to explore the Admech codex in search of dedicated fire support.

The list fulfills 3 basic requirements:

1) good board control & screening

2) powerful fire support to clear screens and light vehicles

3) at least 1 unit which can take the fight to the enemy in their own DZ

You'll be correct to point out that it lacks anti-tank. This truly has not been an issue; with effective chaff clearance, locking vehicles in combat is easy enough. The libby dread was added just before the tournament as I expected to encounter knights at some point.

It has been a very effective list so far. Kind of a symphony of independent elements which each do their own thing, but come together as a balanced whole.

My list was this:

Smash captain - shield, hammer, angels wing

Libby dread - ran with wings and quickening every game

3 x 5 man scouts. 2 sgts with powerful sword

10 x sanguinary guard. All with fists and angelus

Sanguinary ancient. Fist, angelus, standard of sacrifice

2 x relic sicarans. Heavy bolter sponsons, 1 with HK missile

Admech - stygies forgeworld

Dominus - volkite & macrostubber

Manipulus - transonic cannon

3 x 5 skitarii. Barebone

20 x corpuscarii electropriests

2 x kastelan robots. All phosphor

~