Terminator Lord Loadout?

MiniB1084

Hello,

Im planning on getting a Terminator Lord to accompany my squad of terminators. Im fairly new to 40k and am unsure of what weapons to give him for maximum effect.

my terminators are equipped like:

Champion, Combi-Melta and Power Axe

3x Terminators (1 Combi-Bolter, 2 Combi-Plasma, 1 Chainfist, 2 Power Fists)

1x terminator (Reaper Autocannon, Power Fist)

What load-outs are you guys using on your Terminator Lords? And why have you given it that equipment?

Any advice is also appreciated.

Thanks

Edited by MiniB1084

Out of the box, maybe a powerfist or chainfist, or perhaps a power axe.

If you had the means, give him a thunder hammer because it does more damage than a fist (still think it's weird GW let us after...decades? I've only been playing since 5th, have thunderhammers)

The answer probably depends on how you're planning to use him, honestly.

If you're Deepstriking him with the squad of terminators, it's worth keeping in mind that the odds are against him for getting to assault - just over 25% of getting there unassisted while you're guaranteed he can a. give re-rolls to the terminators and b. shoot something if he's in range. The terminators are probably a better target for strategems or psychic powers to get in, since they're more durable (more wounds) and hit harder (more attacks).

All that said, when i use a terminator lord, I give him a combi-plasma and a power axe. With his re-rolls and good BS, it's not that risky to overcharge and it can put the hurt on something when combined with fire from the terminators, provided you can land in rapid fire range of something worth killing. I give him the power axe because it's a good balance between raising strength and decent AP without the cost or penalty to hit for a power fist, or thunderhammer. It's probably a personal flaw but it irks me when I waste WS 2 attacks due to the penalty.

Edited by Sgt. Blank