Lucifer216’s Archangels

Lucifer216

IMG 20191123 190830 761

Fear us, oh enemies of man, for we are the angels of death, the blessed scions of Sanguinius and the breakers of armies

A long time ago I started painting a Blood Angels army and then for reasons that are now lost in the mists of time I stopped. Fast forward to the present day, past two huge armies (Tyranids and Mechanicus) and one course on blending & weathering from Siege Studios. On seeing the Space Marine Heroes 2 models, I knew I had to return to the Sons of Sanguinius. Despite being a massive Blood Angel fan boy – to the point where I wrote a short story about a hypothetical second siege of Terra from their point of view and roleplayed as a Blood Angel Assault Marine during a long Deathwatch RPG campaign), I haven’t had a functional army of them since the early 2000s.

Because of the inspiration from the Space Marine Hero 2 range, the arrival of the Primaris Marines (which make my old firstborn marines in power armour look less than appealing) and my love of Tactical Dreadnought Armour; I decided to focus on the Blood Angels’ 1st Company, the Archangels.

Rather than sell on my duplicates for Space Marine Heroes 2, I opted to do weapon and head swaps on them. While the army is set in the 41st millennium, there will be much in the way of inspiration from the strife-filled days of the Horus Heresy – expect lots of Contemptor Dreadnoughts, FW transfers – and if my nerve holds – freehand and black marble on the vehicles.