New to 40k and seeking advice

Deathbyfoodtray

First off I apologise if this is in the wrong place but I am new to 40k and picked up the chaos half of the shadowspear box about a month ago. I'm running them as black legion and looking to expand out to a full 2k point army over time but currently I have:

5x havocs(new box)

1x sorcerer

1x abbadon the despoiler

10x chaos space marines

1x master of possession

2x obliterators

2x greater possessed

1x venom crawler

I've thought about adding 5x terminators and 10x possessed as my next upgrade and doing a deathball around abbadon but have also been considering getting the start collecting CSM box with the hellbrute. Any advice or suggestions would be a great help, I do want to do some local tournaments eventually but mostly just want to have fun and get familiar with the game.

Welcome to 40K and to Chaos!  Feel free to ask questions and to post your work - folks here are eager to help and see your minis.

From my experience, your next purchases should be based on your experience.  For example, while I love hellbrutes I find they all die turn one (except for the 2x lascannon + missile launcher I keep in the back).  So, whether a hellbrute is a good addition to your force depends on who you normally face and what holes in your army you are trying to fill.  Things to keep in mind if you do want to get the Start Collecting box: