AM/IG Deployment late 8th Ed. Discussion Revisited

ASTRA MILITARUM DEPLOYMENT Revisited late 8th Ed.

Too often conversations stop at conclusory statements like 'that doesn't work' or 'that isn't a good comparison.' But, the "why" is a very important question, because we're all at different levels, and even a wrong answer can illuminate new ideas from a new perspective, and exclusion has a value of it's own. So, I'm not good at deployment, and I'm going to just think out loud for a bit... tell me why I'm wrong, right, or more should be added to the discussion.

GOING FIRST

• Enemy Counter-Deployment
    • opponent anticipates you will shoot them in the open and takes advantage of cover/reserves to minimize your damage output turn 1, with the expectation to move out and hit you hard at the bottom of turn 1.
    • List Building: Add or ally units capable of deploying outside deployment zone to push enemy (1) away from you and (2) away from objectives; and (3) limit their deployment options (back them into a corner so they can't move out as effectively)?
    • Is this a limitation on Cadia regiment--practically speaking will you need to expect to move out?
  • Objectives
    • Get that first blood Rambo!
    • set units up within range to capture turn 2 objectives
      • don't just throw away units
    • plan redundancy for things that might not go as planned. 
    • List Building: the old white dwarf saying: "if you bring one Leman Russ, Bring two."
  • Reduce Enemy Efficiency
    • Enemy ability to destroy you degrades as they take casualties
    • Ask about their list 
    • Determine target (& objective) priority
      • things might not be as they seem
      • going first might be your only chance to catch opponents before they use special rules, stratagems, or powers
      • List Building: do you have units that can target characters if they aren't the closest unit?
    • Problem Units; 'Death Stars'