EC vs Judiciar

Syward

I'm new to the BT, starting them up with Indomitus.

Is it just me, or does the new Judiciar seem like it's the new Primaris version of the EC? Aside from not getting the HI rule, and the cool, potentially devastating Tempormortis rule, they seem to have the same/similar abilities. 

So I'm curious, whats the advantage to taking one over the other or taking both?

Rules-wise, I actually wouldn't say they're very similar. The EC is a character-killer; the Judiciar is a utility character who happens to also be decent in combat.

The fact that the Judiciar is in an Elites slot, while EC is an HQ, is a big point in favor if the Judiciar for 9th, IMO. If you want a Captain aura, a Lieutenant aura, and a Chaplain, then you can't take the EC in a battalion.

We can't use the Chapter Champion stratagem, sadly.

Oh no, how come? What did I miss?

Is it because it’s in the F&F book? I thought they were still usable?

Yes, it’s in F&F. It’s because the Emperors Champion is our equivalent to a chapter champion.

Quite shocked to read people are willing to lose the ec in their list.

Isn't the ec our most defining unit choice?

Points went up, he's a character beatstick that specializes in killing characters, but there are plenty of space marine units that beat things up and most of our characters can kill other characters fairly reliably. Take a look at the Judiciar, not as offensive focused but the Tempermortis is actually broken when fighting vs another assault army and he will still mulch characters and some units in combat.

He is still a great model and unit, but he's also an HQ slot and if you are looking at it from an optimized POV its harder to justify. From a crusade perspective bring him whenever you want and engage in glorious melee combat for the Emperor!

Edited by Yossarion

Eh. Under the current rules, he's just a guy with a sword. If he got Vows or some version of the challenge rule again, he'd be a lot more fun to play.