Lunchbreak TheoryHammer: Playing the 9th Ed Mission as IG/AM

I'm getting painting done these days, but no tournaments around lately. So, I want to talk about the mission and objectives as it relates to AG/IM decisions in the game. I'm by no means an expert, 50/50 at a tourney is a very good showing for me, but hopefully I can flesh out some weakness in my strategy.

So, let's start with Retrieval Mission. What do we Know?

• Scoring: get on to one objective, score 5 points (easy, it’s in your deployment zone). Get on two, score another 5... Get on more than half, score another 5.
    • But - no scoring Battle Round (BR) 1.
      • So, we should get in position to capture on T2 or later.
    • You score in command phase, and movement phase comes after that. This means you’ll need to move onto objectives, and survive the enemy turn in order to score in your next command phase. 
  • The table is 44” x 60”  
  • There are 6 objectives; Objectives are 40mm; and Controlling an objective means being within 3” or 5” horizontal
    • 6 objectives tells me I don't want to show up with only 6 units. I like redundancy. I'd like to be able to capture over 50% as often as possible. Who knows what's practical, but I like the idea of lots of units--really cover the board.
  • The four objectives outside deployment zones are about 14.4” away from center (I think, haven't had a math class in some decades).
    • Secondaries scoring within 6” of center thus don’t necessarily synergize well
  • 1x Objectives is in your deployment zone
    • Well, this one is easy? Choose to deploy on this to capture it and deny your opponent. Something like Creed and mortars might like to stay put there. Though this is only 8" deep in deployment, and they might want to be further back. I could see having several units available moving in spaced ranks, maybe counter charge units here behind a screen is the right idea.
  • 2x objectives are  4” away from your deployment zone, 20” away from opponent