Jump to content

Meltabomb + Astartes banner


jonjacob

Recommended Posts

The banner ability allow an attack as if it was my shooting / assault phase when a model is destroyed.

 

Can I elect to use a Meltabomb strategem when I have chosen to fight with my dead model?

 

I can't remember the 8th ruling on it to make comparison. Can someone set me straight? The strategem doesn't forbid it and I cannot find a page in the 9th rule book to say otherwise.

Link to comment
https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/366898-meltabomb-astartes-banner/
Share on other sites

At the end of 8th, in the FAQ, it stated that rules that stated that you did something "as if it were your shooting/assault phase" applied all the rules for that phase except stratagems - you could only use stratagems required to be used in a particular phase(s) in that phase(s).

 

Can't remember if there is anything like that in 9e, though.

At the end of 8th, in the FAQ, it stated that rules that stated that you did something "as if it were your shooting/assault phase" applied all the rules for that phase except stratagems - you could only use stratagems required to be used in a particular phase(s) in that phase(s).

 

Can't remember if there is anything like that in 9e, though.

Thank you! I will ask the other player until an FAQ is put out.

I had the opportunity of a single model unit yesterday melt bomb a Hellbrute via the banner. either way melt bomb was very effective.

I think I found what you're looking for on pg.204 or the BRB.

 

Here are the bullet points for "Out of Phase Rules"

  • When resolving an out of phase rule, all rules that normally apply in that phase continue to apply.
  • Phase-specific Strategems cannot be used when resolving out of phase rules.

So as long as it is still the Fight Phase you can meet half of the Melta Bomb requirements at least.  What concerns me though is the other half that reads "when an ADEPTUS ASTARTES MELTA BOMB unit from your army is selected to fight".  I don't know if the Astartes Banner ability is going to meet the requirement of having selected that unit to fight.

 

I've been away from the game for several editions now so I can't comment as to how this would have played previously.  To me it looks like it could be a question for the FAQ team.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.