Infantry Squad Loadout

I'm not a Guard pro but I've been playing them since the codex came out in 8th. It does depend on your Doctrine(s) and what else you have in your list. I personally like flamers because of the auto-hitting and the strength 4 that can come in handy sometimes. I've never been a fan of grenade launchers, the Krak is too hot or miss for me and you're better off with 4 lasgun shots (with First Rank Fire) instead of rolling the d6, but some people do like them. Plasma can be useful, especially if you've got an extended rapid fire range (Disciplined Shooters, Armageddon), but seeing as you'll most likely be using First Rank Fire and not Take Aim, Overcharging can be an issue. I don't think meltas are worth it, too expensive and getting in range can be tricky unless you're in a Chimera, but I've seen lists with massed meltas which could be surprisingly good against vehicles. Snipers are bleh, I have some in command squads with missiles but it's more for fluff reasons, but again unless you are massing snipers across infantry squads, special weapons squads and command squads... Ain't really worth it. Heavy weapon teams can be good to look at if you're playing something static like Cadia, they add up if you've got say a lascannon, autocannon or heavy bolter across 6 squads plus your three heavy weapon squads. I wouldn't give the Sergeant anything special unless you really have the spare points and nothing else to do with them. Maybe Catachan might like a power sword or something, if you're going for a melee infantry horde... But even then the chainsword is probably ok.

Like I said, it depends on what gaps you need to fill, but to me the Flamer is the cheap, decent option, and Plasma if you want to invest a little more, and a heavy team if you know they are going to sit still most of the game.