Help Building a Dark angels Tactical Squad

Macragge-T

I am a painter who doesn't play warhammer. Someday I may like to change this tho, and I'd like to build my current models within the bounds of game rules and feasibility of "points" as I construct my marines. I really can't wait to paint (Dark Angels Theme) but I'm at a bit of a road block.

These boxes come with so many weapons, "If you chose this for a marine, you can't chose that".. "This accessory or transfer is only meant for a sargent or has a specific game functionality", so many variables to consider before that glue touches the plastic that it's frustrating. This game is seriously not meant for people completely new to painting, wargamming, and model building I'm discovering. It's like you need to log 100 hrs of warhammer lore and knowledge before you even attempt to build these troops. Please help, I can't wait too paint but can't do that till these models are built. My beginners anxiety is holding me back tho.. "What if I build a tactical squad that isn't rule compliant or that just plain sucks?"

(The point,lol):

Since there arent a few examples of pre-built squads included in the box (aside from the front of the box, which manages to leave out all of the cool weapons included I've noticed), can someone please provide me with a template squad to build that is both rule compliant and decent enough for table play someday? Example: build five marines. 1. Arm with bolter. 2 arm with bolter and chainsword, 3. Arm with missile launcher 4 arm with bolter, etc.

I really want to make two squads, five each. Can both be lead by a sargent? Can a sarg of a five man squad have the banner, a powerfist, and a chainsword?

Sargent 2 I want to give the combi weapon to. Can he sport a secondary weapon from the box?

Please help a super noob.

Edited by Macragge-T