Help - Spray varnish goes on the model as discrete spots rather than a continuous coat

This might be a very obvious thing that I'm doing wrong, but I want to check.

I'm still new to the varnishing game, but when using spray varnishes, even with manufacturer's instructions, the varnish seems to go on the model as tiny spots of varnish that are not joined up, and they look like they would dry into a bumpy texture. I have no idea if this is correct and they would flow into one another after a few minutes, so I've been going back over with a heavier coat from 6" away, which seems to do the trick and give one continuous flat coat across the model, however this feels like a very thick coat, and I'm not sure if someday it will ruin a model.

So I ask the community, what is a spray varnish supposed to look like on the model right after spraying? Tiny spatters or continuous coat? Am I doing something wrong?

For reference, I've used Windsor & Newton professional matte, W&N prof satin and liquitex matte and had the same result of patchy spotty spatters with all 3. The liquitex in particular seems to spray really badly and I have to get very close to the model to get an even coat, which then ends up seemingly thick.

Any thoughts or tips are welcome! 

I've never experienced that, but have never used those brands. It's interesting that they're all trad artist stuff and not mini/model brands. I'd try Testor's  or GW's spray varnish and see how those work for you. FWIW, I shoot Vallejo acrylic varnishes through an airbrush and have never had a problem (and have heard enough frosting/hazing horror stories that I'd never go back to rattlecan varnish)

It should go on as a continuous coat, in the same way as primer, etc. If you're getting a "grainy" texture to the finish, to me that would be an indication that the varnish is drying in the air before it hits the model.