Tyranid Unit of the Week: Neurogaunts (and nodebeasts)

Brother Nathan

++ Neurogaunts and Nodebeasts++
nids background.PNG

We have a new unit of the week! the new little gaunts does they fill any gaps in your army?  are they fodder or useful? let us know, 

• To compliment a list, or to build a list around? Will the beta rules affect your list(s)? And at what points restrictions?
  • What size unit? Will you be running multiple units?
  • What Enhancements, Hyper Adaptations and Stratagems do you prefer and how much does it depend on the above choices?
  • Are you buffing this unit? If so, how?

As far as I can tell this unit is primarily there to provide a bodyguard to the Neurotyrant? They’re cheap but don’t seem to do anything well, and while I am pretty new to the game I don’t see anything in their stats or abilities that makes me think they’ll be anything more than protection for the boss. 

what am I missing with these guys?

Not a unit im a fan of. I think theres just something missing on their current datacards. That the node beasts have nothing listed at all seems wrong. Was thinking a stealer like profile could have made them interesting... butnope. They are the cheapest models we have though and do add to a synaptic web... but elsewise i dont see huge areas for their use. They will struggle to do any form of damage but have cheap numbers. May be able to choke up units and delay. A squad cost similar to a terminator. But they arnt battleline... 

Also they are one of the worst bodyguard units for the neurotyrant that ive heard of. All that said... am gonna pick up a squad and use it to points fill...

Right; maybe you could have them scuttle behind a neurophage or venomthropes to take advantage of the auras and squat on an objective or something. Might be worth it as a screen in a monster mash sorta list?

and I agree that something seems off—gotta hope something cool happens for them with the codex I guess