Building from Leviathan

Bloody Legionnaire

Well, here I am; your token SM player who decided to keep instead of get rid of his tyranids half of Leviathan..

In all seriousness, when I started playing 40k with Space Wolves, tyranids were my most consistently played against army and essentially the army I learned to play against, so I am pretty excited for have a small collection I can keep. 

Any tips on adding to what comes in the box for a total of about 2k to 3k points? 

I definitely want to get the new Norn Emissary when it comes out as well as... well the majority of the kits tyranids are getting. Other than that, just focus on units I like and think are cool or are there certain units/builds to be focused on? 

At present I was planning on picking up to add to my collection: The Swarmlord, Tyranid Warriors, Tryannofex, eventually a Trygon, and possibly an exocrine or 2.

Edit: Since I didnt mention it, adding more basic troops is a given. I do understand I'm going to need more than what comes in Leviathan in the basic troop category. 

Edited by Bloody Legionnaire

welcome to the hive. 

til we get codex and see how many/if any changes happen with data sheets its very hard to know but in my opinion this is how i like to break it down. 

what do you need for nids... 

and i mean need. some are obvious like a hq/character and we've plenty and mostly everything is decent but not every is good. but with some certain hqs need certain choices or they are pointless. broodlord needs its stealers and becomes a cc beast. tyran helps shooty but can do most anything. deathleaper dosent need anyone. if you don't have 3 squads of termagaunts when you take a tervagon then theres no point. 

troops- we dont need... they fill ppints they are cheap they fill board. they are disposable and dont kill much so if you dont plan them to distract/score points you dont need....