A not so brief introduction

Hello everyone,

Glad to join the forum, apologies in advance for a fairly long introduction.  But maybe some detail in here might grab your eye and garner a few suggestions on forums to frequent or projects/threads to follow.

I’m new to both miniatures/wargaming in general and 40K/30K in particular, stepped in just over a year ago now.  I’ve been lurking around here for a while now, just hadn't pulled the trigger on making an account.  I hope to be consistently active; I think it’s important to participate so that communities like this can stay robust.  I really enjoyed being on various forums when I was younger, but most of those were run by the companies/developers behind the topic/interest, and all of them have shut down over the past decade or so.  None of the newer online spaces that people seem to view as replacements to forums actually fill the role as far as I have seen.  Many places seem like a bit of a treadmill where the same few topics are posted on a regular basis, and actual discussion is tertiary to the basic questions, similar memes, and photos posted with no context outside of the title.  I really like reading through ongoing discussions where everyone involved is pretty interested/invested.