Rhavien Posted June 21 Share Posted June 21 Situation happened in our last game. Two of my units charged a land raider. The first managed to pop it open. The terrain only allowed my opponent to disembark relatively close to my second unit. Is this second unit allowed to pile in and attack? We scanned the rulebook and the app, but we couldn't find the rule, that a charging unit can only attack the charged unit. I know it was there in past editions, but we couldn't find it and so I activated this second unit, piled in and attacked. Is this legal in 10th? DemonGSides 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
kabaakaba Posted June 21 Share Posted June 21 Well, it's looks like there no such restriction and you can pile-in to any enemy unit that within 3" so I can be in base-to-base contact. Nothing in pile-in rules about charge at all. Rhavien 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6117666 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osteoclast Posted June 21 Share Posted June 21 (edited) Would they lose the charge bonus for the second fight? Bit curious myself as had a similar situation the other week (two units charged, first wiped the target, leader resurrected, second piled in or consolidated into it, I think we both decided that our respective units were ineligible to fight). Edited June 22 by Osteoclast Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6117749 Share on other sites More sharing options...
kabaakaba Posted June 22 Share Posted June 22 (edited) Which charge bonus? Can you share it's wording. Because in my opinion logic is follow: 1. Your units is charged THIS turn, if it can end charge move in base-to-base contact it shall do it. 2. Your unit get charge bonus THIS turn 3. In fight phase you pile in. There is no restriction to which unit you pile-in to. Only requirement you pile in into base-to-base contact to one or more enemy units and in coherence. 4. Fight phase. So if you can pile in and eligible to fight(in base to base contact with one or more enemy units models) you should have your bonus this turn Cause charge required you to finish move in engagement range. Nothing more. If you charged you get bonus. No further restriction in rules as I can see. Edited June 22 by kabaakaba Osteoclast 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6117791 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rhavien Posted June 23 Author Share Posted June 23 That's how we handled it. As both of my units have successfully charged in the charge phase, they get the charge bonus regardless. I only feel insecure, because it wouldn't be the first time that we missed an important rule playing since 2. edition. Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6118005 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karhedron Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 I am inclined to agree. The Red Thirst rule state: Quote Each time an ADEPTUS ASTARTES unit from your army is selected to fight, if that unit made a Charge move this turn, until the end of the phase, add 1 to the Attacks characteristic and add 2 to the Strength characteristic of melee weapons equipped by models in that unit. As long as the unit performed a Charge move this turn, it gets its bonus. No restriction on who the bonus applies to. Rhavien and DemonGSides 1 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6118023 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solution DemonGSides Posted June 23 Solution Share Posted June 23 (edited) Having to fight the unit you charged is an old rule and not part of 10th. The closest thing that we have in 10th is that you have to declare a unit as the target of a charge when declaring charges if you plan on getting within engagement range of that unit during the charge phase. If you don't, you'd have to be able to make the pile in with a model that isn't in engagement range of the original charge target (which is doable if you kill them on the Hammer of Wrath rolls from something like JPAI or a tank shock). Charge bonus applies to fights first being given when a unit charged. Even if they are attacking a unit they didn't charge, they charged this turn and would therefore get the bonus. Edited June 23 by DemonGSides Osteoclast, Rhavien, Tawnis and 1 other 2 2 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6118040 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rhavien Posted June 23 Author Share Posted June 23 Thank you all. That covers every point of my question. DemonGSides 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6118053 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tawnis Posted June 25 Share Posted June 25 On 6/23/2025 at 8:16 AM, Rhavien said: Thank you all. That covers every point of my question. One other way you can use this to your advantage is with units that do mortal wounds on the charge. Things like Jump Intercessors, Krootox Rampagers, or Khorne Bloodcrushers. If you can kill the unit you charged with the mortal wounds, you can pile into a unit behind them and still fight so long as your 3" pile in gets you within the 1" engagement range. DemonGSides 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386161-attacking-another-unit-after-pile-in/#findComment-6118430 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now