Jump to content

Attacking another unit after pile in


Go to solution Solved by DemonGSides,

Recommended Posts

Situation happened in our last game. Two of my units charged a land raider. The first managed to pop it open. The terrain only allowed my opponent to disembark relatively close to my second unit. 

Is this second unit allowed to pile in and attack?

We scanned the rulebook and the app, but we couldn't find the rule, that a charging unit can only attack the charged unit. I know it was there in past editions, but we couldn't find it and so I activated this second unit, piled in and attacked.

Is this legal in 10th?

Would they lose the charge bonus for the second fight? Bit curious myself as had a similar situation the other week (two units charged, first wiped the target, leader resurrected, second piled in or consolidated into it, I think we both decided that our respective units were ineligible to fight).

Edited by Osteoclast

Which charge bonus? Can you share it's wording. Because in my opinion logic is follow:

1. Your units is charged THIS turn, if it can end charge move in base-to-base contact it shall do it.

2. Your unit get charge bonus THIS turn

3. In fight phase you pile in. There is no restriction to which unit you pile-in to. Only requirement you pile in into base-to-base contact to one or more enemy units and in coherence.

4. Fight phase. 

So if you can pile in and eligible to fight(in base to base contact with one or more enemy units models) you should have your bonus this turn

 

Cause charge required you to finish move in engagement range. Nothing more. If you charged you get bonus. No further restriction in rules as I can see.

Edited by kabaakaba

That's how we handled it. As both of my units have successfully charged in the charge phase, they get the charge bonus regardless. 

I only feel insecure, because it wouldn't be the first time that we missed an important rule playing since 2. edition.

I am inclined to agree. The Red Thirst rule state:

 

Quote

Each time an ADEPTUS ASTARTES unit from your army is selected to fight, if that unit made a Charge move this turn, until the end of the phase, add 1 to the Attacks characteristic and add 2 to the Strength characteristic of melee weapons equipped by models in that unit.

 

As long as the unit performed a Charge move this turn, it gets its bonus. No restriction on who the bonus applies to.

  • Solution

Having to fight the unit you charged is an old rule and not part of 10th.  The closest thing that we have in 10th is that you have to declare a unit as the target of a charge when declaring charges if you plan on getting within engagement range of that unit during the charge phase. If you don't, you'd have to be able to make the pile in with a model that isn't in engagement range of the original charge target (which is doable if you kill them on the Hammer of Wrath rolls from something like JPAI or a tank shock). 

 

Charge bonus applies to fights first being given when a unit charged. Even if they are attacking a unit they didn't charge, they charged this turn and would therefore get the bonus.

 

 

Edited by DemonGSides

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.