Jump to content

Unit locked detachment and Logistical Benefit


Go to solution Solved by Brother Kraskor,

Recommended Posts

This might be an @James workshop kind of question so I understand if there isn't any replies.

 

If I'm an Alpha legion player and I take a headhunter leviathal, with one of those two Prime slots I decide to add another elite slot. Is that elite slot locked to only the two units specified in the detachment or can I add a squad of vets or Lernaens?

 

My understanding is that it would be locked to the two choices but I want to see if I'm reading that interaction the same as others. 

I disagree.

Mechanicum Apex and Auxiliary detachments are factionlocked, so can only have Reductor or Cybernetica and so on.

Page 13 of the Liber Mechanicum: If an Apex Detachment or Auxiliary Detachment [...] has the Logistical Benefit Prime Advantage selected for it, then the Unit selected Prime Advantage may have a different variant of the Mechanicum Faction Trait than the other Units in that Detachment.

 

All detachments are locked, the whole point of the Logistical Benefit is that it brings in a slot that is not in the detachment.

Posted (edited)
16 hours ago, MagicHat said:

All detachments are locked, the whole point of the Logistical Benefit is that it brings in a slot that is not in the detachment.

Agreed, but not quite what I was asking and to be fair the scenario im proposing is kinda absurd.

 

In terms of mechanicum, if I was to take the Panoply of Cruelty, and I added another heavy assult slot, can I take something other than the Ursarax? A castellax destructor for example

Edited by MDops
  • Solution

I see what you mean, I think RAW you're right. The Logistical Benefit allows you to add another slot of any role (except command/high command), but it doesn't say anything about granting freedom of unit selection within that role. And the specific detachment rule says any Elite must be certain units. So if you pick another Elite, it has to be those units.

 

However, I don't know what your list looks like, but you could just use a Crusade detachment Prime benefit for the extra elite, and use the Headhunter Prime benefit for any non-Elite unit and it won't be bound by this restriction.

10 hours ago, Brother Kraskor said:

However, I don't know what your list looks like, but you could just use a Crusade detachment Prime benefit for the extra elite, and use the Headhunter Prime benefit for any non-Elite unit and it won't be bound by this restriction.

This is basically what I did. Ended up adding a transport to the leviathal and using the one in the main detachment to get the elite slot I was after

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.