MDops Posted August 4 Share Posted August 4 This might be an @James workshop kind of question so I understand if there isn't any replies. If I'm an Alpha legion player and I take a headhunter leviathal, with one of those two Prime slots I decide to add another elite slot. Is that elite slot locked to only the two units specified in the detachment or can I add a squad of vets or Lernaens? My understanding is that it would be locked to the two choices but I want to see if I'm reading that interaction the same as others. Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386418-unit-locked-detachment-and-logistical-benefit/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khulu Posted August 4 Share Posted August 4 I read it the same way. LB adds a slot to the detachment and the detachment says those slots are limited, so I think you'd be limited. MDops 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386418-unit-locked-detachment-and-logistical-benefit/#findComment-6126157 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MagicHat Posted August 6 Share Posted August 6 I disagree. Mechanicum Apex and Auxiliary detachments are factionlocked, so can only have Reductor or Cybernetica and so on. Page 13 of the Liber Mechanicum: If an Apex Detachment or Auxiliary Detachment [...] has the Logistical Benefit Prime Advantage selected for it, then the Unit selected Prime Advantage may have a different variant of the Mechanicum Faction Trait than the other Units in that Detachment. All detachments are locked, the whole point of the Logistical Benefit is that it brings in a slot that is not in the detachment. Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386418-unit-locked-detachment-and-logistical-benefit/#findComment-6126507 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MDops Posted August 6 Author Share Posted August 6 (edited) 16 hours ago, MagicHat said: All detachments are locked, the whole point of the Logistical Benefit is that it brings in a slot that is not in the detachment. Agreed, but not quite what I was asking and to be fair the scenario im proposing is kinda absurd. In terms of mechanicum, if I was to take the Panoply of Cruelty, and I added another heavy assult slot, can I take something other than the Ursarax? A castellax destructor for example Edited August 6 by MDops Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386418-unit-locked-detachment-and-logistical-benefit/#findComment-6126666 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solution Brother Kraskor Posted August 9 Solution Share Posted August 9 I see what you mean, I think RAW you're right. The Logistical Benefit allows you to add another slot of any role (except command/high command), but it doesn't say anything about granting freedom of unit selection within that role. And the specific detachment rule says any Elite must be certain units. So if you pick another Elite, it has to be those units. However, I don't know what your list looks like, but you could just use a Crusade detachment Prime benefit for the extra elite, and use the Headhunter Prime benefit for any non-Elite unit and it won't be bound by this restriction. Khulu, Agramar_The_Luna_Wolf, SlickSamos and 1 other 4 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386418-unit-locked-detachment-and-logistical-benefit/#findComment-6127068 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MDops Posted August 9 Author Share Posted August 9 10 hours ago, Brother Kraskor said: However, I don't know what your list looks like, but you could just use a Crusade detachment Prime benefit for the extra elite, and use the Headhunter Prime benefit for any non-Elite unit and it won't be bound by this restriction. This is basically what I did. Ended up adding a transport to the leviathal and using the one in the main detachment to get the elite slot I was after Brother Kraskor 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386418-unit-locked-detachment-and-logistical-benefit/#findComment-6127180 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now