chapter master 454 Posted Friday at 06:37 PM Share Posted Friday at 06:37 PM Ok this is a bit more indepth and needs an answer because I am certain I know how this should work but my opponent who has gone to tournaments has played it another way and has on no occassion been called out on it and in fact that is how his opponents play it and even his team-mates. The scenario: Calgar with his Victrix are leading a company hero squad. They charge into my Gallant, deal some damage but don't kill. I attack back with sweep and now we get into the situation. This is all from one attack activation and so mid-resolution of a units attacks, though there are 18 attacks. Of these attacks, ALL of the company heroes and one victrix are slain, assigning wounds as you would expect with the order being: 3 Company heroes (not the champion), Victrix guard, then the champion. Now after the champion has been slain, there are now still 6 more wounds to allocate (poor rolls, not a single 6 and the victrix fumbled the 4++). He now begins to assign to CALGAR. Now this is something we have argued over before I believe in a different condition but in this instance I decided to just let him have it as he states other players have allowed it and played it this way as "the unit is now just calgar and his victrix". This lets him have Calgar tank the hits, still takes 3 wounds in total but does survive. This I am CERTAIN is wrong. Calgar and his victrix would NOT be considered their own unit until AFTER we have finalised the results of the attacks thus meaning the Victrix is still a "bodyguard" model, as any attached units become part of the unit and only break out and become their own unit AFTER attacks are resolved. I want to know. Is this manner in which he did it correct or am I right and need to have a bunch of tournament players knowledge checked hard for incorrect use of Calgar and trying to abuse his 4+++ from victrix. To note: if this was just Calgar and the Victrix on their own that is how you can play it, you can have Calgar tank hits to use the 4+++ but at the start of my attacks, he was joined to a company heroes unit and I am SURE he wouldn't be valid for assigning until AFTER the attacks (all of them) are resolved. Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386774-assigning-wounds-to-characters-question/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solution DemonGSides Posted Friday at 07:30 PM Solution Share Posted Friday at 07:30 PM The Victrix guards aren't part of the bodyguard unit, they're part of the leader unit. This causes weird chicanery that mostly only comes up with good ol Calgar (Might be part of the reason why he's being remade). The last sentence in the applicable rule is; "As soon as the last Bodyguard model in an Attached unit has been destroyed, any attacks made against that unit that have yet to be allocated can then be allocated to CHARACTER models in that unit." As soon as the Company Heroes are dead, Calgar is technically an applicable target of the damage (And you'd want him to be, as he retains the 4+FNP due to still having at least one Victrix Guard in his unit). He's one of the few units this type of interaction plays with, but it's technically correct. jaxom and Karhedron 2 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386774-assigning-wounds-to-characters-question/#findComment-6133874 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now