brother Vorn_GarDos Posted 7 hours ago Share Posted 7 hours ago Q. I played a game against astra and all their indirect units were rolling to hit 4+ (indirect fire). Is this possible ? Q. A mortar team has BS of 5+. It decides to use indirect fire on a non visible target. Does it hit in a 4+ or 5+ or 6+? Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386941-question-indirect-fir/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord_Ikka Posted 7 hours ago Share Posted 7 hours ago 1. If the unit(s) have some way of getting a +2 modifier on their to Hit roll, then yes, they will be hitting on a 4+ (if the base to Hit would be a 5+). I know that the Take Aim order gives Ballistic Skill modifier of +1, so there would have to be another +1 modifier of either the Hit roll or Ballistic Skill. I'm not an IG player, so I don't know off-hand if there is any further way to boost either of those. 2. 6+, unless there are other modifiers present. The Indirect Fire keyword makes all rolls of 1-3 automatically miss, gives the target unit the Benefit of Cover, and gives the shooting unit a -1 to Hit. This is per page 7, Core Rules Updates version 1.7 Dr_Ruminahui 1 Back to top Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386941-question-indirect-fir/#findComment-6137389 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dr_Ruminahui Posted 6 hours ago Share Posted 6 hours ago (edited) This is basically just what Lord_Ikka said, but in my own words - I hadn't noticed his post before doing mine (otherwise I wouldn't have bothered, as he covers everything I had to say). A. Yes, its possible, but I'm not familiar with Millitarum units, so can't say if they can do it. Under the core rules, indirect fire gives a -1 to hit. This, however, can be counteracted by gaining a bonus to hit from elsewhere. So, if the indirectly firing unit had BS 3+ or BS 4+ and a plus to hit from somewhere (say a stratagem or the heavy key word) then it could be hitting on a 4+ A. Normally, that mortar team would hit on a 6+ if it were firing out of line of sight. That said, the mortar likely has the heavy keyword, giving it +1 to hit if it didn't move, which would cancel out the -1 and let it hit on a 4+. If it had another +1 from somewhere (say, a stratagem or a special rule) that would let it hit on a 4+ - your total to hit modifier can't be greater than +1/-1, but that still allows you to benefit from all to hit modifiers below that cap (so, the first +1 would cancel out the -1, then the model could benefit from the next +1). Edited 6 hours ago by Dr_Ruminahui Link to comment https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/386941-question-indirect-fir/#findComment-6137392 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now