New to painting

KnightsErrand

So I got back into 40K and decided to pick up some Space Wolves. I used to play Tau and actually did an okay job painting them, but I was never good at doing details.

I could use alot of help doing it. Terms like dry brushing, wet blending and everything spiffy is greek to me. Any tips or help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm not good at explaining anything but drybrushing is quick highlighting by wipping of the most color from the pencil and then just bruhshing it over the mini. Like if u drybrush over a catachan green then you could use like camo green or something

WELCOME TO THE BOLTERAND CHAINSWORD!!!

There are so many good articles out there, but I would suggest either searching (up on the right), or taking a few hours...seriously...to browse through our tutorials. Many B&C Brothers are very handy with the brush, and have posted some great tutorials here. If you have any specific questions, please don't hesitate to post those as well. Frequently, we'll see a post that is rather vague, so it's hard to know what to reply with, and where to start. On the other hand, "I need help painting wolf pelts" is a great way to attract many responses, that will offer you a variety of top notch techniques to try out.

I do have a question for you...are you wanting a showcase army (every model converted, and painted near Demon standards); a tournament army (one that wins most RTT best painted army awards, and might even place at a Grand Tournament); or a decent table top quality army?

Again...welcome!

Well, that's part of why I asked our new Brother what kind of painting standard he was after. In my tournament army, I spend about 40 hours per Marine, and little more on characters. Most people don't want to do that...and I don't blame them. There are ways to speed paint a very sharp looking army.