Blood Ravens test mini

Megalodon

I've decided I need a codex marine army with the new Space Marine Codex right around the corner. The hitch is I am a dreadfully slow painter most of the time, and highlighting marines takes a lot of effort to make look nice without being cartoony. Ancientgod did some fantastic looking battle worn Chaos marine a while back. So with that for inspiration I thought I'd give it a go on a loyalist chapter. I'm using this same technique on my fantasy Chaos army and I like it a lot.

I picked Blood Ravens because I've never seen an army of them locally, and I like their background.

This mini was painted in about an hour and 45 minutes, he still needs a few thing finished. I'm waiting on some decal paper to arrive so I can print the chapter badge.

What do you think?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v673/EasyEight/40K/BloodRaven1resized.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v673/EasyEight/40K/BloodRaven2resized.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v673/EasyEight/40K/BloodRaven3resized.jpg

That's not bad! Usually I find people go a little over the top on battle worn marines, but this one seems fairly balanced. My only crits are the highlights on the knife sheathe and the shoulderpads. You should try cleaning the highlights up a bit on the knife, and the recesses in the shoulderpads look a bit too gritty for me, but that's about it. Other than that, great work! :rolleyes: I look forward to seeing more! :P

Cheers,

-Kal

Looking good. I wouldnt mind trying that myself - have just started BR's last week.

Its grey / black with boltgun metal higlights for the damage right?

Prime black, drybrush the whole mini with tinbitz, then drybrush with chainmail. Once the metal is done sporadically fill in with red leaving most of the edges with the metal showing.

thats a very nice looking mini, and as an army....woah, that will be a cool looking army.