2008 Games Day figure

Tinweasel

One thing I'm working on right now is the 2008 Games Day figure - I'm painting it up for the local GW Hobby Center, so I basically have free rein to play around with it however I like. There's some conditions, though: the figure needs to be unconverted, he's supposed to be an Ultramarine from 2nd Company, and they want a "snow base." Works out fine for me, as I'd actually like to convert my own GD figure and I've never done a snow base before. With this guy, I'm thinking of playing around with some other stuff I've never tried, like chipped and weathered paint, and overall environmental effects on a figure.

The tabula rasa:

http://home.wowway.com/~tinweasel/gw_GD2008/gw_GD2008_wip.jpg

It's been a few weeks since I've had the figure prepped and primed, and just last night and today I had some time to sit down and actually do some painting. I've got a mid-range color basecoat down over all the armor areas, and I painted some patches up in slightly weathered metallics as part of an experiment I'm trying in order to achieve a "flaking paint" appearance:

http://home.wowway.com/~tinweasel/gw_GD2008/gw_GD2008_wip2.jpg

I was able this morning to actually try out my "experiment" so far as scratched up paint and exposed metal underneath:

http://home.wowway.com/~tinweasel/gw_GD2008/gw_GD2008_wip3.jpg

I'll be doing chipping and scratches on the remainder of the figure to greater or lesser degrees, but these are patches where I wanted the paint seriously scuffed up. What do you guys think?

Oh, and I also took a stab at painting with strictly glazing on the holster. It could do with a bit of touching up so far as highlights and even coverage goes, but it's an interesting style of painting. (What do you guys think of it so far?)

nice, congratulations on having the mini, i so much want to get it but i cant go to games day, and i dont want to buy it from ebay.