Two handed weapon with a power weapon

whytwolf

Hi,

I am somewhat new to the game and have a rules question. I have noticed that certain models come packaged (or prebuilt inthe case of the Sternguard Veteran) with parts to wield both a boltgun and powerfist. Is it legal to use a two handed weapon with a power fist? The codex states that the Sgt. can replace his boltgun and/or boltpistol for other weapons including a power fist. I interpret that this as an "either or" statement allowing the player to make that choice.

In the case of the Sterngurard Vet; it is a one piece model and is specifically modeled with a bolgun in a one handed pose AND powerfist. Was this a mistake or fundamental rules change? The Sgt. that came in my Devistators box had the same one handed boltgun pose as well.

Any advice or clarification would be most helpful.

Regards,

Whyt

This seems to come up a lot for some reason.

It's not a fundamental rules change, at least not from 4th to 5th. There was nothing in 4th to stop you having a 2 handed weapon and a single handed close combat weapon, besides individual codex wargear options.

So yes, you can have a powerfist and a bolter, as long as the wargear options for that model allow it.

In previous codices, it was stated in the armoury section that a model may only carry two weapons, one of which may be two handed. So even back then a boltgun with powerfist would have been legal. In the latest batch of codices there is no armoury anymore, and models are equipped directly from their army list entry. There is no stated limitation on how many weapons they can carry, but they are limited in how many choices they can make from that list. Space Marines can only swap in a weapon they already have for anotherone from the list, so they can usually only have two weapons at a time. But those two weapons could even both be two handed. Some models, like the honour guard even have three weapons.