Raz's Word Bearers - Hell Follows With Them

RazakelXIII

EDIT: Most recent army shot (Sept 30, 2013)
EDIT: Painting step-by-step
EDIT: Candle sculpting step-by-step halfway down this post

EDIT: Impurity seal/Fleshybit sculpting tutorial

Greetings, brethren! *fires off bolter and waves accursed crozius around in the air like a madman*

Razakel here. Long-time lurker, first time poster. I've been painting and fluff...ing... since Dawn of War came out, but I just started playing about a month ago. I started with Ultrasmurfs, went over to Black Legion, saw the light of the Emperor again with Blood Ravens, and then fell once again to the Dark Gods with Word Bearers. I've tried starting this army once before, but my paint scheme didn't quite work out (too bright and glossy), so I restarted after having learned a few things working on the HQs. It's difficult to get me motivated to paint lately, though, so I'm hoping blogging it will help get the army up and going. Currently, I've got about 1500 points worth of models, though half of them aren't fully assembled and only a few of them are even primed.

Anyway, I saw the legendary Doghouse Pattern Gothic Marine tutorial and had to at least try it. It takes a while, but it's definitely worth it. Only problem is I'm kinda... well, not so good at sculpting yet, but I like to believe I'm learning! :happy:

So, without further ado, my first three models:

Aspiring Champion, Phael Berith

gallery_39401_2771_166607.jpg

and his cape. I GS'd it rather hastily, and yes I realize it's not exactly smooth, but I'm too lazy to change it. A friend of mine actually broke off a piece of it this weekend. After I overcame a sudden rush of the Black Rage, I noticed the cape actually looks better now, so in the next round of pics I'll be sure to post that...

gallery_39401_2771_117745.jpg

Bolter Marine

gallery_39401_2771_46974.jpg

His shoulderpad (I couldn't seem to get a better pic...).

gallery_39401_2771_84975.jpg

A Cultist