Grey Hunter Packs

spectre312

I'm still working on actually getting my army assembled and in packs, and I was curious to get some input on Hunter configurations. I guess I'll aska few direct questions, and hope you guys throw in some of your personal builds as well.

1. Is it good to have a few pistols left instead of all bolters?

2. I always used to take frag and krak, but i left them game for awhile, they still pretty much mandatory?

3. WGPL, TDA with a heavy weapon? Or get some PA with a fist/pistol love going?

4. Is it worth taking heavy weapons on them? or are they better used to advance into the enemy with fists and pw and assaulting behind the BC "horde"?

I'm still pretty new to actually gaming, to be honest, for the first couple of years I was strictly a fluff loving collector.

1. Personally I use True Grit instead of the bolt pistols. I've yet to try them with BP/CCW, except on Sarge.

2. Not really mandatory from my experience, but they don't hurt if you've got the points.

3. Someone else could probably give you better advice.

4. I'm loving my drop pod army, just food for thought. "Follow behind," replaced by, "Fall on."

Depends on what I'm using them for.

If it's a static fire-line for holding an objective, advancing slowly, it looks something like:

10-man , Pgun, 2 PW, 7 Bolters with a WGPL (SB, PF, WP, TDA).

If it's an advancing, rhino riding squad: 9-man, Mgun, 2 PW, 2 PP, frags & BP/CC with a WGPL (BP, PF, WP, Mbombs)

all in a rhino with extra armor (if I can find points)

I've never felt the need for krak grenades (though they are much more useful in 5th ed). I run with a fist and meltagun in my mobile squads; and my army runs with 2 MM Speeders and a squad of OBEL Wolf Scouts w/ 2 pp, 1 Mgun, and a power weapon or two. I never seem to be at a loss for anti-vehicle weapons so I don't concern myself with the grenades.

-Huzzah