Special Characters - Worth the Cost?

WolfLordLars

So, we are going to be doing local tournaments soon, 1500pts and two lists allowed (the theory being that two lists means that you dont have to have an 'uber-cheese kill all' list just to play, you can try things). I wanted to run a special character in one of my lists. I have never done this before, considering them all too expensive to be worthwhile.

So, whats your thought on our special characters?

Logan - He is the most expensive. WS6 is nice, but otherwise looks just like an overpriced Wolf Lord. His axe has options, being a legendary leader is nice... but for the cost? I have a WONDERFULLY painted miniature of him as well, which is why thats so disappointing.

Ragnar - He is the least expensive. Also a WS6, but Berserk Charge and Dodge make him worth looking at, in spite of the price. Actually, I think he is fairly close to the cost of a kitted out Wolf Lord, overall. That berserk charge with a unit of wolf guards seems like it would make for a great shock unit to break through lines. Of the three, he is probably the one I will go with.

Ulrik - Less than Logan, but slightly more than Ragnar. Given that some wargear he carries is useless, and he really doesnt bring any great special rules in (Mentor is nice.. but not compelling) he is another one that just doesnt seem like its worth the points for a regular game.

Am I missing anything?

Well considering Ulrik is useless in all respects, and Logan has to be 2000+ (unless tournament has other rules?), Ragnar is definitely the one to go with. Not to mention he's the best for what he does... set him up with some grey hunters in a pod with 2-4 fenrisian wolves at his side (depending on how much room you have, maybe just get a land raider... :wub: ) and watch them go.