Just getting started *fluff and a bit of rules*

Asterixlee

I'm just getting into 40k, and Space Wolves sound like the coolest list in the game to me.

I've read up on the Space Marines background a bit, so I know most of the SW idiosyncrasies when it comes to chapter organization, but I was wondering how to go about standardizing my troops under one symbol. I'd like to stick to the warhammer lore as much as possible, but I also want a degree of customization to shine through. I absolutely love the degree of depth this game's setting has.

Would it be appropriate to select one of the twelve great chapters as my army standard? Are there any important lore aspects that should aid in this decision? I was eyeballing this site particularly: http://www.gobiel.com/sonsofruss/warlord.htm and Erik Morkai's company looked pretty fun.

The great company symbol should be emblazoned on the right-shoulder of all my marines right?

As for other symbolism, I could adopt the runes of my chosen chapter to put on guns and such, but I'm still looking for more resources to aid me there.

Apart from that, I'm more or less free to concoct my own squad flavor and be as flamboyant as I want to be, right?

Basically I'm still trying to feel out where the line between the setting and the player's imagination is typically drawn. (i'll be gearing up to play in tourneys and other functions at my local GW sometime in the future.)

I realize these questions are pretty vague, but I feel like i'm still too new to the game to have specific inquiries.