New Pup Joining the Ranks

nagash4life

Hello all. I am new to B&C and to the Wolves, but after stumbling my way here I have found the threads and articles to be an invaluable tool. I have already won my first two games thanks to some of the tactica that I found among the dusty tombs, but I have a question because I'm now preparing for my first tournament.

The tournament is 1750pts and will use all 3 standard missions and deployments. From looking over the sign-up sheet, I see a lot of standard marines (8 of the 10 signed up) and I am concerned about having enough troops to hold objectives. Currently I have been running a list with 1 grey hunter pack in rhino, 1 blood claw pack in rhino and 1 eleven man blood claw pack in a landraider w/combat lord. I have enjoyed the effectiveness of rushing a flank with these three squads and with the amount of fire that the landraider can absorb and keep on ticking, but at ***pts it is a rather expensive transport. My question then centers around dropping the landraider in favor of another pack. In 1750pt games, is it necessary to have 4 troops, or would 3 be more then enough?

Rounding out my list is a venerable dread and rune priest, blood claw bike squad, 1 melta attack bike and a vindicator. Thank you in advance for the replies.

i'm not a fan of the landraider bloodclaw list, costs too much imo and a simple droppodding unit could ruin it's day;)

an iron clad dreadnought in a droppod can be a pain in the ass and would be a good unit

also, have you discussed how the power stormclaler works? i'd say you check it up with the organizer because else you might run into trouble

Hail to you! Have an Ale and listen to our tactical ramblings.

As a now seasoned Tornuament player, I can appricate what you are feeling and so have pulled up my views on SW tornuament lists and my first Tornie Blog.