The death of my Chapter Master

Valdr Fell-fist

Hail brothers!

After a game i played against a friend's eldar army, pitting my Chapter Master Helikaon (Calgar counts-as) and his honour guard against their points worth in Banshees, Scorpions and an Autarch (we gave them an equivalent to the without number rule), i found that i had been wiped out to a man. rather than simply shrug off the losses, i decided to write a bit of fiction based on the events that took place, and actually removed Helikaon from any future lists. Whilst i don't think of myself as an author, i thought i would put it up here, so i could get some comments and criticism.

Happy reading!

The Death of the Golden One

‘Brother-Apothecary Vaddon, report to the forward command bunker. Medical assistance required, urgently.’ The voice of Sergeant Hecular, leader of the Primus Sternguard squad voxed.

“Acknowledged, brother. ETA 90 seconds.” Pulsed Chief Apothecary Vaddon, appearing through the main door of the command bunker, his white armour discoloured around the calves with dirt from his swift passage. The 90 second run had taken him from the Apothecarion, almost two kilometres away.

He noticed first the blood. Three hundred years a medic and blood was as familiar to him as water, or air. Even before seeing the individual sprawled on the floor, he knew it to be the Chapter Champion, Sparhawk. Sparhawk had joined Helikaon that morning, on a pilgrimage out of the city, to pray at a shrine in the mountains, as this holy month was Emperor’s Blessing, and every warrior should make a pilgrimage at least once. If Sparhawk was this badly injured, then surely Helika… ‘No,’ Thought Vaddon. ‘The patient takes priority’. He immediately set about carrying Sparhawk to the Apotheacrion, bracing him from every step, removing the warrior’s holy armour even as he walked.